IIS profiling won't serve up pages

IIS profiling won't serve up pages

I'm trying to profile an asp.net application. I'm running NCover like:

ncover.console //iis //w "C:\path_to_bin"

The program outputs that it is stopping and then starting the service [World Wide Web Publishing], followed by saying that it is waiting for me to load an ASP.NET page.

Now I try to open my website in a web browser, but it never opens -- the status bar text just indefinitely says that it is waiting on the page to load.

If I end NCover with CTRL+C and start my WWW service manually, I can then load the page just fine. What might be keeping it from serving the page while NCover is running? This is my first attempt at using NCover, btw.

RE: IIS profiling won't serve up pages

NCover instruments IL as it is loaded by the IIS worker process, so large projects or projects with many references can take some time to load. How long have you waited?

Stephen Ward

Thanks for the response -- I'm happy to report that I simply wasn't waiting long enough! Such an easy fix. It did cause me to experience some timeouts in the web application but I should be able to change that value on the server. It looks like I'm successfully getting coverage data, which I'm going to review now...

• Joe

glad to be of help

HI,

I'm having the same problem. I downloaded the latest (2.1) NCover. Trying to do evaluation to see if it is a valid choice for our product (a ASP.NET web application) tesing profiling purpose.

I typed NCover //iis in the command prompt. The message says "The profiler will not connect until you load an asp page". I opened a IE browser, typed URL of our application start page. The page is trying to load but never really come back until I stop the NCover and restart WWW publish service. The first page is only a login page. But the whole application is huge with a lots of DLLs in the bin folder. I don't know if that matters. I tried several times, I think I waited long enough (>20 mins).