NCover Documentation

NCover.Console Command Line Flags

NCover.Console provides numerous features for profiling applications, services, and IIS (ASP.NET) applications.

Output

Name Flags Summary
Append Trends //at, //append-trend Appends trend data from the merged coverage files to the specified output path and filename.
Coverage XML //x, //xml Outputs Coverage data to a file other than the default.
HTML Report //h, //html (Deprecated) Outputs HTML to a directory. Requires Complete Edition.
Log File //l, //log-file Logs to a file other than the default.
Log Level //ll, //log-level Specify profiler log level.
Project Name //p, //project-name Specifies the name of the project for HTML output.

Profiling Options

Name Flags Summary
Coverage Metric //ct, //coverage-type Set which coverage metrics to collect data for.
Exclude Attributes //ea, //exclude-attributes Namespaces, classes and methods with an attribute that matches one of the regular expressions will be excluded from coverage.
Exclude Assemblies //eas, //exclude-assemblies Exclude assemblies from coverage.
Exclude Files //ef, //exclude-files Excludes source files using a list of regular expressions.
Exclude Methods //em, //exclude-methods Excludes methods using a list of regular expressions.
Exclude Types //et, //exclude-types Excludes types using a list of regular expressions..
Include Attributes //ia, //include-attributes Namespaces, Classes, and Methods with an attribute that matches one of the regular expressions will be included into coverage.
Include Assemblies //ias, //a, //assemblies, //include-assemblies Selects which assemblies to cover.
Include File Paths //if, //include-files Source files whose path matches one of the regular expressions will be included into coverage.
Include Types //it, //include-types Namespaces and Classes whose fully-qualified name matches one of these regular expressions will be included into coverage.
Disable Autoexclusion //na Includes compiler generated code in coverage.
Only Assemblies With Source //onlywithsource Only cover Assemblies with source information.
Process Name //pn Profile only processes that match a particular name.
Cover All Processes //coverall Makes NCover cover all processes that it starts either directly or indirectly.
Symbol Search Policy //ssp Tell NCover where to look for symbol (*.pdb) files.

Program Settings

Name Flags Summary
Build Id //bi, //build-id Attaches a custom build id to the coverage data gathered.
Read Settings from a file //cr, //read-settings-file, //r Set coverage settings based on a settings file.
Save Settings //cs, //s, //save-settings-file Save coverage settings to a file.
Turn literal mode on. //literal Turns off the automatic detection and fixing of common NCover configuration errors; forces NCover to interpret its command line arguments literally.
Register NCover //reg Temporarily registers the NCover DLL.
Global Environment //setupglobalenvironment Configures NCover to cover child processes that could start as services or as regular applications.
Working Directory //w, //working-directory Sets the working directory of the application NCover starts. e.g. nunit-console.exe
Wait for Application Load //wal, //wait-for-app-load Sets the maximum number of minutes NCover waits for the profiled process to connect before timing out.

Services

Name Flags Summary
IIS //iis Allows coverage of IIS.
Service Timeout //st, //service-timeout Sets maximum number of minutes NCover will let IIS or a Windows Service run before stopping them..
Windows Service //svc, //service Allows coverage of a service.
Service Argument //sa Adds a startup argument to the windows service argument list.

If you still need technical assistance, we can help:

Submit A Support Ticket

Try NCover Free Contact Us Online